logo-yelp

Another very satisfied customer. I went in search of a new optometrist because my old one was terrible. I had lenses made previously that were not anti-glare and reflected everything on them. I found Pildes, read some reviews and deiced to stop by after work. They took the measurements/dimensions of my current lenses and put the order in on the same day. I came back the next day to drop my glasses off and they were ready for pickup in one business day (total of a three day transaction). The front desk staff was super friendly and accommodating. They are also open until 6 everyday so it’s easy to drop by after work. What is more, they did not hassle me to get an eye exam- just straight to addressing my problem- and I was in and out in under 15 minutes each time.

Here is the part I am most pleased about: the glasses were perfectly done. The lenses are so clear you can barely tell they are even there, and I see perfectly in them. There was a zero adjustment period (wherein at my old optometrist, even if I was getting lenses with the same exact prescription and dimensions, they never did fit as comfortably when putting them on as the old ones).

All in all, I will definitely be going here from now on for my eyeware needs.

-Anastasiya G. 9/15/2014

I had just gone on Medicare and was leaving for LA to take care of my infant Granddaughter while Mom and Dad needed to return to work full-time. I needed to get contacts for my adventure which is for an indefinite time period.
My medicare plan has great coverage for contacts, however, my usual optical place would not accept the plan. I checked out several places that were on the “list” but they no longer took the plan either and were not especially friendly when I went into the stores to try to find out in person. As it turns out, I was given some erroneous info about my plan and that is probably why they told me no! Maria at Pildes did a more thorough search through the various options and found my plan and me in the system!!!! Amazing!!!! I was completely crunched for time as I had not thought this would be such a difficult task to accomplish and had, therefore, left it until the last minute. I cannot compliment the staff enough for how delightful and helpful they were in getting my prescription and my contacts. Maria was amazing scheduling me in and arranging to have the contacts arrive at the store asap (alas after I was on my plane) and took it upon herself before I even thought of it to ask Jay if they could mail them to me at my new temporary address!!!! Jay agreed and all they arrived shortly after I did!!! The optometrist was a delight also. After discussing with me my preferences for strength and comfort he readily adjusted the prescription and chose a brand for me that I find so much more comfortable than what I had been wearing for years.I had a lot of fun and some great conversations in the store. They were terrific with everyone that came into the store while I was there and greeted all with a big friendly welcome. The vibes there are like being with family you really enjoy spending time with. I can’t believe I had never gone in there before even though I have been in the neighborhood since before they opened! There was a wonderful selection of frames, good prices, attentive and caring service… unpretentious and very classy!! I LOVE it at Pildes….I give them the highest recommendation I can!! Enjoy!

-Diane R. 7/6/2014

I have lived on the Upper West Side of New York my whole life and I have always gotten my glasses at Pildes Optical. Over the years, I have followed Jay (the owner), and Ruben, to three different store locations within a twenty-block radius. The reasons that I continue to shop there, and why I always recommend them so highly are: great service, and extreme knowledge about eyeglasses and every type of lense available. Jay and Ruben have impeccable taste in picking frames for each particular face, and that ultimately saves the customer a lot of time and frustration. They have a wonderful choice of the most current frames at the most reasonable prices, and they will work with you and your insurance company to get you the best possible price. They are so helpful and always go above and beyond. If you break your glasses, or need to get minor adjustments, they are always accommodating and will fix your glasses with a smile! I have recommended many friends who were visiting from out of town, and everyone was always extremely happy with the service. When they ordered glasses they were sent to them very quickly and in perfect condition. Recently, my friend broke the metal hinge off her glasses and was told in another store that she had to buy a new pair of glasses (in excess of $300).Luckily, she told me and I took her to Pildes and she was so relieved to find out that they could be soldered for a fraction of the price. Suffice it to say you are in GREAT hands at Pildes Optical and I would never shop anywhere else for glasses. When you have had the very best, all that’s left is all the rest!

-Margo D.  6/2/2014

logo-yelp
I needed glasses repaired from another state.  No one would help me.  I went to Pildes and not only did they fix my glasses, they reordered me replacements.  They are accommodating in a way that doesn’t exist in 2014.  They offer personal professional care and the staff is terrific. I wouldn’t go anywhere else and encourage others to support this fine business.  Jay the owner is terrific!!!

-Avi A. 5/11/2014

logo-yelp

I used to go to another eyewear store in the neighborhood, and did not feel comfortable going there.  And then I walked by Pildes.  Why didn’t I know about Pildes earlier!

The staff is AWESOME.  They are all very helpful, patient and friendly as I visited them three times to find the right glasses.  They have a wide selection to chose from.  Additionally, I did mention that I was going to buy my contacts online because they were cheaper, and they matched the price.  AND I got a $50 rebate on top.  AND they delivered my contacts to me. How sincere can you get Pildes?

THANKS for a great experience Pildes!

-Elli P. 5/11/2014  

logo-yelp
These guys are great. They fixed my glasses for free. Unbelievable customer service.

Aaron V. 4/10/2011

logo-yelp
Excellent service. I wasn’t rushed to make a decision on frames and got to pick what I really wanted. Had all my questions answered and was very satisfied overall. A definite recommendation to anyone wanting a good experience.

Mark K. 8/5/2013

logo-yelp
Throughout my experiences of glasses/contacts searching, I’ve found Pildes Optical to be a particularly helpful place that works for your best interest. Not only are the staff exceptionally kind and welcoming, but they know what they’re doing. I’ve been to the Lens Crafters nearby and sure they have their share of lenses, yet Pildes’ staff are way more personal and experienced. The sales people offer very valuable and worth while packages. They happen to sell popular brand names, ranging from european style frames to japanese style frames: they have everything. Pildes’ also doesn’t require an appointment. You could walk right in and get your eyes examined on the spot, if not very easily schedule a simple appointment. I very much recommend this store. Wearing glasses since a little boy, I know not every lens store is the same. Pildes’ is an exceptional store and if anybody were to ask me where to find great frames with great deals and great people, I would surely recommend Pildes Optical.

Jamie M. 6/23/2009

logo-yelp
This is a local shop very close to my home yet for some reason I rarely consider them, despite their full range of services and frames. I brought in a relatively new pair or Ray Ban sunglasses on which one of the stems had broken off to inquire about repair. The doctor himself happened to be up front at the counter and told me that for something so simple they usually don’t charge, but I had to agree to proceed at my own risk, as the spring in the hinge could be broken in the process. Having given up the glasses as lost anyway, I decided there was no harm in trying. He told me to come back in an hour. Upon my return, expectations non-existent, it was with great surprise that I found my glasses as good as new, with no signs of wear or trauma. They wouldn’t take payment, and everyone in the shop I dealt with couldn’t have been more accommodating. Excellent friendly service at no charge? I still can’t get over it. From now on, this is my go-to shop.

Michael F. 7/15/2011

logo-yelp
I live outside the country, am in New York to visit family but needed lens replacement for my glasses and decided on Pildes because of the great reviews on Yelp. And, those reviews are exactly on-target. Reuben handled my appointment when I called from abroad and he is the best. I had to change the appt twice but no problem for Reuben; he is friendly and covers all bases. Had the exam this morning; they are planning to have my glasses completed by tomorrow since I need them early. I’m an M.D. myself and wish all of the U.S. medicine system worked this well.

Joe S. 9/3/2013

logo-yelp
I LOVE this store!!! They have great frames and fabulous service. The staff is amazing and extremely helpful. It is obvious that they care a great deal about the customers, and will go out of their way to assist them. They are very knowledgeable and experienced. I travel from N.J. to purchase my eyeglasses and contacts here. They have a wide variety of frames. I recommend Pildes Optical to ALL of my friends and coworkers. It is definitely worth the trip!!!!

Simone S. 6/24/2009

logo-yelp
I went into get my eye glass frames adjusted. They were giving me a headache and also falling off my face. I’m Asian so I thought that I would just have to put-up with ill-fitting glasses. I did a Google search and went in during my lunch break. 1) They actually made eye-contact when entering the store! Even though it was really busy! (Customer Service Kudos!!) 2) A person actually came up to me and asked me if I needed help versus me flagging down someone. (Hooray again!) 3) Said person, very nice, took one look at my frames and knew instantaneously what was wrong (they were too close together) without me having to try them on 4) He fixed my glasses, brought them back, I tried them on and they fit perfectly (wearing them now) 5) No headache and they stay on my face (I thought I would have to buy rubber stick ons to create nosepads on my plastic frames) 6) Also best of all they did it free of charge! I was sure I would have to pay something, but they fixed them with no obvious benefit to themselves! 7) Also it was done in a matter of 10 minutes! Go to this place! They are fantastic! Next year, I will be scheduling my eye exam there!

Joy P. 8/16/2011

logo-yelp
This is a great place to get your eyewear! They are incredibly patient and attentive in helping you pick out frames. You will never feel rushed even if that means trying on many many frames. The stock is great but if for some odd reason you don’t find something that works for you never fear-they constantly get in new styles of frames. They are highly competent-your glasses will fit correctly! I highly recommend Pildes on Broadway.

Amy C. 12/1/2013

logo-yelp
Easily, the best eyeglass/sunglasses store I’ve ever shopped in. I can never get enough classically-designed, prescription-shades. But in my 12 years of being a customer to Reuben, Jay and Rick’s good graces, I”ve never been treated rudely (or even had a salesperson attempt to talk me into buying anything I didn’t already spot). Furthermore, I have been assisted above-and-beyond what’s expected every single time I’ve been in a hurry and needed an immediate-adjustment to a temporarily-misshapen or popped-out lens frame. They also give me unvarnished-feedback about how something fits on my bumpy probiscus or whether or not I should lighten the tinting ten-percent. When my dog was alive, they even extended that courtesy to him (graciously allowing him to say hi to the folks in the back or simply to sit on the cool floor waiting). All of the staff at Pildes are helpful (even the people I don’t know well, who nevertheless let me in after the doors were locked a few weeks ago). They always have cool but unobtrusive frames and anytime the glare-coating isn’t perfect or the most-minor problem, they courteously put the customer first. Three times I’ve had glasses delivered to my apartment and countless times have I been the beneficiary of a “gratis” fixing of some problem that they sent away and turned around in under-a-week for no-charge. I’m a short little guy with hippie hair and no sense of style, but I never get the upturned-nose, “situational ethics” passive-agressive treatment from any of the friendly Pildes staff (who keep good hours too). So, since this is the only store in all of Manhattan that’s worth the time I’ve just spent positively-reviewing them, I want to urge you to check out their wares anytime you’re in the market for some new spec’s. I’d even put Rick’s football-knowledge to the test against any other eyeglass-clerk in the city (although, admittedly, the effort required to round up his entirely-theoretical competitors precludes such an experiment from ever transpiring). Oh, Jay and R. are quite culturally-and-sports-literate as well.

Gary R. 6/29/2009

logo-yelp
Just walked in there this evening to fix the “arm” on a pair of Versace glasses I had. Unfortunately, the factory that Pildes Optical called did not have the proper joint to fix my specific pair of glasses, so the only option left was to get my glasses shipped out to be soldered. However, an extremely helpful employee named Reuben offered to try and build a temporary fix putting a new “arm” on the glasses. Reuben then suggested that the replacement arm was so close in style/color to the glasses, I could just permanently fix the glasses. This saved me a good $60 + time spent away from my glasses! Highly recommend these guys!

David R. 3/2/2012

logo-yelp
Excellent and timely service, terrific craftsmanship and expertise, and finally, an optician I will return to for years. After looking throughout Manhattan – on the UWS, SoHo, the LES, and midtown west (at 28 stores!), the moment I walked into Pildes I knew I was in good hands. I could sense the feeling of community when returning customers were greeted by name, and as I waited to choose my frames, I experienced the deep knowledge and infectious camaraderie amongst the knowledgeable staff. Maria took such great care with me, and showed immense expertise as she helped me pick my glasses. I hope her ears are burning when I tell you that she is simply terrific. Ask for her by name! Just wanted to give credit where credit was due and post this review on Yelp to share my experience. So often great service goes unnoticed, and I’ve been raving about Pildes to my family and friends these past few days. Wanted to share my gratitude.

Jacob K. 2/14/2014

logo-yelp
As a first time customer, I found the service to be amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a huge selection of frames and sunglasses. I really enjoyed the personalized service, something I never got at one of those big chain stores. Also, there prices are very competitive. I’m one of those comparative shoppers, so trust me, there prices are good. I highly recommend this store.

Cathy F. 6/30/2009

logo-yelp
Good experience! The optometrist took plenty of time and was thorough. Talked me through my contact lens options for bi-focal astigmatism, and gave me straightforward advice that I found very helpful. The store appears to carry a good array of frames, including my favorite Maui Jim sunglasses!

Cheri L. 5/10/2012

logo-yelp
What a treat to still have one of the few neighborhood stores where they greet and know you by name and understand your needs! Recently, I had an emergency when the only pair of glasses owned, were lost. Pildes came to the rescue! They filled and rushed a ‘tall order’ efficiently and effectively! It was indeed a pleasure to be able to see again and be taken care of by the wonderful Pildes owner and staff!

Amy A. 2/19/2014

logo-yelp
I have been a customer at Pildes for many years, and I can only say “satisfaction guaranteed” is truly their trademark. Their staff is friendly and very helpful. There are lots of frames to choose from and they are particularly good at helping with the selection process. But most important they are never satisfied unless I am and I must say I don’t find a lot of that in New York City.

Earl G. 7/7/2009

logo-yelp

Karen W. 5/13/2012

logo-yelp
Excellent service! I needed a pair of eyeglasses and I landed in the perfect place to find them. The associate named Jean was incredibly helpful and patient! He stuck with me as I tried on pair after pair. This place has a great eyeglass selection and a great staff to match. It was time and money well spent! Give them a try!

Eliza W. 4/1/2014

logo-yelp
I have been wearing eyeglasses since I was 9 years old. For the past 20 years I have been going to Pildes for my eyeglasses. And in addition to my getting regular ophthalmologist exams, I make certain to have my prescription fine-tuned by Pildes optometrist at the store, so I get the best vision possible. Jay and Reuben seem to know all the regulars and whenever I walk in I am greeted by name and a smile. They’re always gracious if I need something adjusted or repaired. There is no hard sell and they take time and offer suggestions, whenever asked. I wouldn’t consider going anywhere else. I get small town treatment in Manhattan.

Susan G. 7/19/2009

logo-yelp
Another great experience-dr. Colman listens well and makes useful suggestions. And the staff made sure to contact my insurance and walk me patiently through several options for buying contacts. Jay also called me before my appointment specially to let me know about the Yelp deal!

Lauren R. 6/4/2012

logo-yelp
Just great! Ruben and Maria couldn’t have been more helpful, the examination (and doctor) were very comfortable and efficient, and the glasses are really good. Friendly, warm and charming. As good as it gets!!!

Michael D. 4/8/2014

logo-yelp
I love Pildes Optical at 2193 Broadway and have been a client for over 10 years. Their service is great and they have a great selection. They have been great for repairs also. They helped me “save” a damaged frame by repairing it rather than up-selling me. This is not the same store. In fact the store in the 90’s was a competitor and has been out of business for a few years. The Pildes Optical I like and highly recommend is on Broadway at 78th street.

Gary C. 5/26/2009

logo-yelp
I have been a loyal customer of Pildes for years. They have always offered a great selection of glasses and have always provided me with the best service – for competitive prices. Dr. Cohen is fantastic. I will continue to return!

M H. 6/19/2012

logo-yelp
I had to get glasses in a hurry one Friday afternoon as I was headed out of NYC for a trip and my contacts were causing me problems. Jay at the store was patient and helpful w/selecting the frames and the lens thickness. This was all the weekend of Hurricane Irene and Jay was able to get the glasses on Saturday morning (while a number of stores were closing or already closed for the hurricane), which was a big help for me. I can’t say much about the prices (as I didn’t shop around) but the service was great. I will definitely go back.

Ken B. 10/1/2011

logo-yelp
I went here for my first pair of glasses ever, and I went solely based on what I read about them. Needless to say, I had very high expectations! They exceeded them in areas of cleanliness, store hours, the speedy service I received without an appointment (less than 10min. to get my eye exam), and the enormous amount of help I was given in choosing my frames. I spared no expense since this was my first pair, and I’m always working with people. The guy showing me all of the frames didn’t try to “sell” me or show me the most expensive ones. He was honest about how I looked in all of them. Eventually I settled on a pair that cost $350, and he gave me $80 off without me even asking! Nice, right?! I went in on a weekend, and they said they’d be ready by the following Tuesday, but I was so excited I called and asked if they could be ready by Monday afternoon, and they said “no problem”. Hands Down, great place, great people, great service!

Jessica T. 2/28/2010

logo-yelp
I recently lost my prescripton sunglasses and needed a new pair as soon as possible. I went to Pildes the very next day, shortly before the store was closing, but Jay at Pildes was accommodating and did not rush me in any way. In fact, he suggested that I have an eye exam with the optometrist on the premises and helped me select a great frame and was cooperative with regard to my wishes concerning the specifications of the lenses. He did not try to push more expensive options, and did not charge me for the exam. He also gave me a tip about a discount coupon on Yelp, that he immediately applied to my purchase. He tried in every way to give me the best possible value. I left feeling very satisfied with my purchase and the wonderful service provied at Pildes. I recommend them highly!

Salvatore V. 8/12/2012

logo-yelp
Although I live about 10 blocks away, and there are several optical places I passed walking to Pildes, I am glad I made it to Pildes. The Optometrist, Dr. Coleman was super nice and did a great thorough eye exam. The gentleman behind the counter was really nice and helpful too. It’s not very fancy, but a great solid place with many choices in frames. I highly recommend this business.

Eliza R. 10/13/2011

logo-yelp
Pildes optical is a very friendly warm neighborhood store. The sales people are extremely helpful and they have a great selection. I have shopped around and Pildes has very reasonable prices. I Would highly recommend them for a great shopping experience.

Mike O. 3/25/2010

logo-yelp
I have bought several pairs of glasses from Pildes over the years. The service is what keeps me going back. They are always available for little fixes to my glasses — I only need walk on in. And the one time I had a real problem with the fit of my glasses, they took them back for a full refund without any question and got a pair that worked out much better. Highly recommend!

Justin P. 8/15/2012

logo-yelp
Thanks to Jean for helping me with my glasses. He is very knowledgable. I will definitely return. Great customer service.

R S. 4/13/2014

logo-yelp
Great store! I’ve bought half a dozen pairs of glasses from Pildes. I think their selection is the best on the UWS. The staff is very professional. Service over a period of years has been outstanding.

Dan S. 3/26/2010

logo-yelp
My wife and I have been going here since we moved to the UWS in ’92. Whether it’s for a high end pair of sunglasses or a $24 box of contacts, Jay, Ruben and colleagues have maintained an extraordinary level of professionalism and graciousness through these past 20 years: They’re all about long term satisfaction and client relationships. Cheers! R (and K).

Rk O. 12/7/2012

logo-yelp
I love this store. The prices are great and they have an excellent selection of frames but I keep coming back to this store because they take such good care of me. Buy your glasses here and you will feel like family. They are especially good at understanding progressive glasses and will find you the lenses that work best for you. You can trust them to find you glasses that will look great because they have excellent taste and really know what they’re doing.

Jordan R. 4/1/2010

logo-yelp
Pildes is the only place I would ever get glasses. I just ordered my second pair of progressives as sunglasses from them. They helped me out in an insurance/warranty situation and trust them explicitly. No pressure. Tons of expertise.

TJ S. 1/3/2013

logo-yelp
I’ve been buying my glasses from Pildes for years. Their selection and customer service are the best . It can take me time to make a decision and they are always patient and offer excellent, honest advice. Jay is fabulous — he runs a great upper west side neighborhood location that I highly recommend.

Lori B. 5/13/2010

logo-yelp
I was in New York for just a few days and found Pildes Optical in the internet. I am very lucky that I did. Jean helped my with my order and I was impressed by his expertise and willingness to give me the best deal for my budget. The others who worked there were also helpful and willing to take time with me when I had questions. I have heard that cheap progressives are blurry on the sides, but these are crystal clear and very much worth the investment. I will certainly wait till I am in New York again for my next pair!

Susan W. 1/9/2013

logo-yelp
Having relocated to New York City about a year ago, I was in need of a reputable and knowledgeable business to purchase new eyeglasses. Pildes was and continues to be the the ideal choice. Jay and his staff did a great job of answering all my questions and providing superior service. They have a great selection of designer sunglasses—which I also purchased from them. They are a great asset to the Upper West Side and I highly recommend them.

Todd S. 5/13/2010

logo-yelp
Am very happy w/ this place, I was comparing places to get my eyes checked out w/ their yelp deal, the eye exam was only $50 total; much cheaper than anywhere else I called. They were very nice when I scheduled it and said I could definitely bring in my 2 kids (ages 2 and 1) and were so kind about me hauling a huge stroller into the exam room. I told both the optometrist and the guy at the counter (when I was trying on frames) that I wasn’t buying glasses there (I’d heard they were expensive; $200+ and I don’t need to wear the glasses much), that I was buying them online (at coastal.com – 1st pair free! no gimmicks; SO easy to order) and they were very polite and eager to help me find the right frames; no pressure to buy there. I ended up upgrading on coastal.com and spending $50 there, so for a total of $100 I got my eyes examined and a new pair of glasses/lenses. So happy! Thank you Yelp!

Robyn T. 3/17/2013

logo-yelp
Went there and had to pass a few other optical places on the way but the reviews were good here so I said Ill give it a try. Im glad I did. My old glasses were warped and in pieces so I brought everything to the store thinking I could save some money with salvaged lenses and asked Maria for new frames that would fit. She said let me take a look at your old pair…I gave her my mangled old frame and she said why dont we try to patch these up first before you purchase a new set. She made my glasses look like new and saved me hundreds. I would not hesitate to go back for an exam or future glasses needs. On top of that, seeing that I now had two sets of glasses because I wore an even older pair into the place, Maria gave me a glasses case for the extra pair. Talk about customer service. She easily could have had a commission and I wouldnt have thought twice since my glasses were in such bad condition. Honesty and efficiency…thanks again…Ill be returning.

Jeff B. 6/26/2010

logo-yelp
Have been going to Pildes for the past 10 years. BEST place for glasses in the city. Jay and his staff are always helpful, patient and accommodating. I never feel rushed or pressured and can always count on an honest opinion about a pair of frames. I am a very picky customer when choosing frames and lenses .Jay will work with me until it is perfect. I have received so many compliments on my all my glasses , especially my prescription ray bans. Jay custom made my lenses and I get stopped on the street! I highly recommend Pildes.

Deb A. 5/5/2013

logo-yelp
We are going away on vacation next week, and I have a new prescription and don’t have matching Rx sunglasses. Stopped in at 4 PM, dropped off my regular glasses, came back 1.5 hours later and they had made me a custom clip-on!! They even lent me a loaner pair that was pretty close to my usual glasses so I didn’t have to wait around half-blind. Jay is fabulous and we take our whole family there for all optical needs. Best on Upper West by far.

Neal S. 3/20/2011

logo-yelp
Extremely professional and friendly, they are a great presence on the UWS. I refer anyone I can to them, including you. Go forth, and enjoy.

I.Opine H. 5/13/2013

http://redhooklibrary.org/files/2013/11/five-stars.png Jacob – Reviewed 2.7.2014 – “I just wanted to send you a huge thank you for a terrific new pair of glasses, and unparalleled service this past week.  I absolutely love my new frames! After looking throughout Manhattan – on the UWS, SoHo, the LES, and midtown west (at 28 stores!), the moment I walked into Pildes I knew I was in good hands.  I could sense the feeling of community when returning customers were greeted by name, and as I waited to choose my frames, I experienced the deep knowledge and infectious camaraderie amongst the knowledgeable staff.  Maria took such great care with me, and showed immense expertise as she helped me pick my glasses.  I hope her ears are burning when I tell you that she is simply terrific. Just wanted to give credit where credit was due and thank you all very much.  So often great service goes unnoticed, and I’ve been raving about Pildes to my family and friends these past few days.  Wanted to share my gratitude.”

http://redhooklibrary.org/files/2013/11/five-stars.png A.D. – Reviewed 2.8.2014 – “I had an incredible experience. I was blown away by the help I received, from rescheduling my initial appointment, to calling me to change the time to an hour that I preferred, to going over my insurance benefits, and helping me pick out my eyewear – I cannot rave enough about the generosity, helpfulness, and intelligence of this staff. I am thrilled to have found this establishment, and look forward to doing business here from now on.”

On a recent trip to New York City, I had forgotten my contact case. Improvising, I stored my only pair of contacts in a hotel glass and went to bed. The next morning I woke up to a friend drinking water out of that glass and my contacts nowhere to be seen. After doing a quick Google search, I came across Pildes Optical and made my way over to them. The staff was so helpful and within no time at all fixed me up with a new pair of contacts and saved my vacation. The staff went out of their way to help me when I was in a pinch and wouldn’t even accept payment for the sample contacts they gave me. I highly recommend this company.

Lynn on Google

Great Service! – definitely deserves a 5 star‎‎ When my eyeglasses broke, I found this shop online and sent them over for repair. Everyone in the store was NICE and their service was super fast – got a call to pick them up only the second business day. The most amazing thing is that they even refunded me after I found out my glasses were still covered by the original warranty! The best repair service I ever had – will definitely go back to this shop for any eyeglass needs in the future

By Cong – Mar 4, 2009

‎I’ve been going to Pildes for many years, because the service is far, far better than the big chains, the prices are fair, the selection of lenses, sunglasses, and contact lenses is excellent, and they treat me and my family as welcome customers. Highly, highly recommend them.

By Rob – Jun 17, 2009

Like working with friends‎‎ Staff is very friendly and helpful with those who are not certain about what they need & want. Maria was very patient and explained the pros & cons of progressive eyeglasses so that this first-timer would know what to expect. I felt as though I was surrounded by friends. My glasses were ready weeks before expected AND are better than I had anticipated. If you avoid shopping for eyeglasses because some optical shops remind you of unpleasant Manhattan cashiers then Pildes on Broadway & 78th is the establishment that will change all of that

By Josephine – Jun 23, 2010

Five star quality and service‎‎ Fifteen years? Longer? I’ve been going to Pildes for so long, I can’t excactly remember when I walked in there and finally found an optician that didn’t make me angry. There are probably a dozen other opticians between my house and this store, but I return because, from exam to post-purchase care, they are consistently excellent. Most importantly, of course, the glasses are always well-made, but they also treat their customers very well, and that means a lot. If there’s a problem, they fix it with a smile; if they can help you, they do. I think it’s telling that pretty much the same staff has worked there as long as I’ve been a customer–which, I would guess,means they must treat the people who work there with the same respect they offer their customer

By Sharon – Jul 17, 2010

‎‎The service at Pildes Optical is so good that I told Jay recently he should write a book called “How to Keep Your Customers Happy”. The first time I went to Pildes was 12 years ago, the weekend before I was getting married. I worked in NY at the time but lived in CT which is where I bought my glasses, which were tinted darker than I wanted. I was in NY and only had one day to get them fixed. The first optical store I went to would not help me because I did not buy my glasses there. Then I walked into Pildes Optical and heard these words “Would you mind waiting 10 minutes?” They lightened the tint and said “There’s no charge. Congratulations on you wedding”. I now live in NY and have been buying my glasses at Pildes Optical ever since. I just picked up another pair of glasses last week. Kim suggested a frame color that I would never have considered and now that I am wearing them, I am delighted. I am very fussy about ‎ More »The service at Pildes Optical is so good that I told Jay recently he should write a book called “How to Keep Your Customers Happy”. The first time I went to Pildes was 12 years ago, the weekend before I was getting married. I worked in NY at the time but lived in CT which is where I bought my glasses, which were tinted darker than I wanted. I was in NY and only had one day to get them fixed. The first optical store I went to would not help me because I did not buy my glasses there. Then I walked into Pildes Optical and heard these words “Would you mind waiting 10 minutes?” They lightened the tint and said “There’s no charge. Congratulations on you wedding”. I now live in NY and have been buying my glasses at Pildes Optical ever since. I just picked up another pair of glasses last week. Kim suggested a frame color that I would never have considered and now that I am wearing them, I am delighted. I am very fussy about my glasses but the folks at Pildes Optical have limitless patience and never cease to treat me as if I am their best customer. Their extensive frame selection, the quality of the progressive lenses, their expertise in making adjustments and finding the right fit, and the warm and friendly welcome you get as soon as you walk in the door – all put them at the top of my list.

By marygb – Sep 11, 2010

I’m one of those people who despise shopping in general and most especially shopping for new glasses. I’ve had to wear glasses for 20+ yeas now. It’s an ordeal deciding on frames and sitting for a fitting. The nightmare is over. My sister brought me to Pildes. I now wear the clearest glass I’ve ever had; best fitting frames; and the service has been more than professional. Everyone in the shop is pleasant. When was the last time you went into a store, made a purchase, and then sent a thank you note to the shop owner? .. at Bloomies, Neiman Marcus, Whole Foods ? I had to write to Jay and crew at Pildes because I was so impressed with the product and the service.

PatG

Once I walked thru the doors probably 15 years ago, I have never bought another pair of glasses elsewhere. Been around the world and all over the states but when I need new frames or stronger lenses I always go back to 77th and Broadway. Why? First – Jay. He’s authentic and smart, easy to talk to and takes care of me like family – and this is how I felt from day one. His inventory: whatever look you need – fun, hip, flashy, subtle, sophisticated, functional, designer, outragious, soft, or cool. The service: always been efficient, thorough and careful at the same time. The staff: patient and generous with their time. Cause I make them pull frame after frame after frame out from under those glass showcases as I pick and choose that new look for myself. And I switch up and do this once or twice a year. The place is a gem – they are everything one needs when looking for glasses or optometry services…contact lenses, shades……cause they have it all and most importantly their prices ‎ More »Once I walked thru the doors probably 15 years ago, I have never bought another pair of glasses elsewhere. Been around the world and all over the states but when I need new frames or stronger lenses I always go back to 77th and Broadway. Why? First – Jay. He’s authentic and smart, easy to talk to and takes care of me like family – and this is how I felt from day one. His inventory: whatever look you need – fun, hip, flashy, subtle, sophisticated, functional, designer, outragious, soft, or cool. The service: always been efficient, thorough and careful at the same time. The staff: patient and generous with their time. Cause I make them pull frame after frame after frame out from under those glass showcases as I pick and choose that new look for myself. And I switch up and do this once or twice a year. The place is a gem – they are everything one needs when looking for glasses or optometry services…contact lenses, shades……cause they have it all and most importantly their prices are competitive and fair. Of course it doesn’t hurt that they are situated next door to Caridad (Best Cuban Chinese food in the city) and sometimes I just want to get some Beef Szechuan or Plantains, bring it back to Pildes and pull a chair up to the counter, eat and schmooze with Jay about the neighborhood.

By nancy – Sep 30, 2010

THEY GET IT‎‎ Pildes Optical gets it (and many companies don’t); they understand that customer service is what buys customer loyalty. Every time I have gone there over the years I have always experienced the same level of professionalism: taking the time as I try on frame after frame (then cheerfully doing it all over again when my wife arrives) … responding to crises (like when I broke my frames and Jay found new ones for my existing lenses and returned them to me the same day) … never getting the sense that more expensive frames were being pushed on me when there were less expensive choices … and the list goes on and on. Life is complicated and here is a way to make it simpler. You live on the upper west side and need need glasses? Go to Pildes. You don’t live on the upper west side? Go to Plides anyway.

By Steve – Oct 2, 2010
Great place to buy glasses‎‎ I was very impressed with the quality of service I received at Pildes. Jay, in particular, is a super nice guy who has spot-on taste and gives you fantastic advice. Buying glasses can be a very personal and sometimes stressful experience, and Jay seems to understand the thought and effort that people put into choosing their glasses. I would DEFINITELY buy glasses here in the future.
By Jakob – Oct 7, 2010

This past week was the second time my glasses have broken while on a trip to NYC. A year ago I discovered Pildes, and they literally saved my vacation! This time my glasses broke on the way to my local airport (is it something about going to NYC?). I was prepared with extra side pieces, and I left them at Pildes right before close on a Tuesday. They were ready first thing the next morning, and I was on my way! They are awesome!!!

If you are remotely close to them, you need to let them take care of all your optical needs!

by TLTulsa at Citysearch

Great long term staff. Very friendly. Know you by name. Great eye exams there. Great choice of glasses,contacts, great styles. Lots of special prices for contacts etc. The entire experience whether u r there 4 an eye exam, or to purchase contacts, or buy new glasses, frames, sun glasses etc is honestly a pleasure. Love all staff, Rubin, Maria, Jay and everyone else. They have been in the neighborhood for many years and hope they r there forever!

Posted on CitySearch by truscica July 2009

“Dr. Coleman is my hero. I have struggled with contact lenses for quite some time, using them mainly for sport and the beach. When I finally discussed this with Dr. Coleman, he suggested that we try a different lens. Just walking by the store and stopping in to say hello has changed the way I look and feel. I love my contacts so much I am hardly wearing my eyeglasses! Thanks!”

Gary

“Jay, I want to express my sincere thanks to you and your staff for the continuing excellent service and courtesy that I have been afforded during my attempt to find new prescription glasses.  My thanks especially to Reuben and Dr. Coleman whose patience and professionalism never waivered over many visits.

I have always appreciated the good work of Pildes Optical, and I will, of course, continue to recommend it to all my friends. Thanks again.”

Lucy

” Thank you so much for finding the best solution for me.  I appreciate the patience, expertise and insight in providing the best possible customer service.  You have made a loyal customer of me. Thanks!”

Mary

” Thank you for all of your efforts (and patience!) with helping me select a new pair of glasses. As it turns out, I love the second pair! Some things turn out for the best.  Thank you again, I am sure you will see me at Pildes again due to your excellent customer service”

Heather

“Thank you for your attentive help when I was choosing a new pair of prescription sunglasses, which I love to wear.  Your cheerful willingness to let me try on frame after frame and answer all of my questions sets you apart from other retail shops in New York, including professional opticians.  Your keen and able service is what persuaded my father to buy a pair from you even though he had not planned on it.  You’ll see me again when I need new eyeglasses.”

Steve